Friday, December 30, 2011

Mission Impossible -- Ghost Protocol

Mission Impossible -- Ghost Protocol

By: Brad Bird (director)
Reviewed by: Jerry, 16
Rating: It was amazing!

It had been a long time since I saw Tom Cruise in pure and real action. Tom's previous movies, Knight and Day and Valkyrie, are no match when compare to this movie in terms of action, plot, and acting. This films definitely reminded me of why Tom Cruise was considered a great actor. It left me with the same impression I had of Tom Cruise after I watched Rain Man. What makes this film good, in my opinion, is its plot. The various irony in this film really made it breathtaking to watch. Failing gadgets during an important mission, polices chasing the wrong enemy, Ethan(Tom),while Ethan is chasing the real enemy, and much more. This film also came out in IMAX. Even though I didn't watch it in IMAX myself, I will encourage anyone to do so because an action-pack and breathtaking movie like this will definitely look incredible in 3D.

Recommended to: Everyone!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

The Scarlet Letter

The Scarlet Letter

By: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Reviewed by: awesomeVia, 17
Rating: Really liked it



This is a common book read in twelfth grade English classes. I thought I wouldn't like it but turned out, I did. I love the tension between Arthur Dimmesdale and Hester. I love how Hawthorne portrays Hester as a strong woman and how the scarlet letter in turn makes her stronger.

I found the diction in the novel confusing at times but the overall story is still good. The ending is kinda sad though.

Recommended to: People who love classic American Literature

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

If I Stay

If I Stay

By: Gayle Forman
Reviewed by: maxiemuas, 16
Rating: It was amazing!



This book is based on music. The plot includes a cellist named Mia and a rock star named Adam, who are crazily in love with each other. Mia gets into a car accident with her whole family one day and the accident wiped out her whole family except for her. This book is really good because of how the author placed the character in her problem. I don't want to ruin the rest because everything inclines after the accident! There is a sequel to it too, and it is Where She Went.


Recommended to: People who like to read music/drama/romance

Vampire Knight (series)

Vampire Knight (series)

By: Matsuri Hino
Reviewed by: IchiruFanGurrl, 15
Rating: It was amazing!



I've never really been into to manga series before, I read a couple (Sailor Moon, Tokyo Mew Mew to name a few) but I've never been able to read one obsessively with only eating, sleeping while reading that until I came across Vampire Knight. Matsuri Hino's manga series is hands down the best manga series I've ever read. It starts out ten years ago when a young girl is almost eaten by a vampire but is save by a beautiful stranger. Ten years later its starts at a private boarding school called Cross Academy, where two classes co-exist with one another the Day Class and the Night Class but the beautiful Night Class have a secret, they are all vampires. The young girl who life was saved that day was adopted by the Headmaster and given the name 'Yuki' she and her childhood friend Zero guard the Day Class from finding out the Night Class secret but soon Yuki discovers Zero's dark secret that he's been keeping for four years.

The plot is very suspenseful and every chapter you just turn the pages keep wondering what will happen next, there a lot of romantic tension in throughout the series especially between Yuki, Zero and Kaname (the vampire who saved Yuki.) But there are a lot of other romantic triangles throughout it that keep you guessing and wondering who will end up with you. There's a lot of drama, shocks and revelations that keep you guessing and things you won't except. Its a very dark and bloody story that can be rather sad at some point which you can really sympathetic with the characters especially Zero, Kaname, Ruka, Shizuka and others to name a few but it really makes them humane and realitisc seeing these 'perfect' vampires dealing with problems and emotions we go though everyday. Jealously, Power, Drama, Revenge, Love, Family, Betrayal, Greed. Though some parts are actually funny in especially The Headmaster and Aido but really are the characters have their quirks. Its a plot-driven drama-horror story.
 
I especially like Matsuri Hino's characters, Yuki is probably one of my favorite heroines, she very strong willed and caring toward others, she has a strong heart and you really watch her grow throughout the series. Kaname is a character that defiantly keeps you going throughout each volume. His mysterious vibe and shocking revelations makes you wonder what is his true motive is and keeps you until the last the volume. I don't really know about Zero but he's a very twisted, mysterious character who you can sympathetic with him making him surprisingly human (which is kinda ironic.) The side characters really shine with their different personalities and developed past. The villains are evil but Matsuri Hino always back up the story to kinda explain why they are evil and it makes you sad but that one one of the great things about her manga is that you can love all her characters without feeling remorse for them.

The art is so beautiful and very detail, I am really amazed at her artwork and the clothes are just as beautiful the characters are all very design beautifully and the school, the town, just beautiful.

I really would recommend this to anyone who love vampires or Gothic tales, actually I would recommend this to anyone! Its really amazing and just pulls you in.

Just Read It!!!


Recommended to: Any Manga Fan, Vampire Fans, Gohtic Fans, really anyone :)

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Love, Inc.


Love, Inc.

By: Yvonne Collins and Sandy Rideout
Reviewed by: Kenley, 13
Rating: It was amazing!



I loved this book! I like to read light-hearted stories that relate with what I'm going through! I loved every second of this book! it had 3 girls who go through friend problems family problems and LOVE problems! All in all I think there should be a movie:)

Recommended to: Teens who like love light-hearted books

Ouran High School Host Club

Ouran High School Host Club

By:Bisco Hatori
Reviewed by: JNoto, 13
Rating: It was amazing!



Meet the Host Club of the rich and prestigious Ouran Academy, a place where girls with too much time on their hands can mingle and be entertained (don't worry, it's nothing bad) by guys who also have too much time on their hands. When Haruhi Fujioka, a middle-class scholarship student, accidently breaks a vase worth ¥8,000,000, she finds herself at the mercy of the Host Club. Can she cope with keeping her identity secret while being a host and entertaining guests? And who knows, maybe Cupid will throw in some romance along the way...

Oh my goodness, I love this manga/anime/drama series. My sister and I could NOT stop laughing while we watched the anime. Seriously, if you are an otaku and for some reason have NEVER watched/read this before, DO IT NOW!!

I would recommend this to:EVERYONE, but mostly to those who enjoy manga or anime or both.

Confessions (Kokuhaku)

Confessions (Kokuhaku)

By:Tetsuya Nakashima
Reviewed by: JNoto, 13
Rating: It was amazing!



This startling dramatic thriller chronicles a teacher's revenge over the death of her young daughter. She subtly and gradually tortures her students, whom she believes to have murdered her daughter, despite police saying that she drowned after falling into the school pool. Will justice prevail? Will she get her redemption?

Oh. My. Freaking. Goodness. I love this movie! I can barely find the words to express how good it was. I rarely get emotionaly during movies or stories, and even if I do I can only spare a tear or two. But THIS movie-oh, man- I was silently bawling at the end. Their so many twists and subplots and lies and-it's just SO AMAZING. It MUST be watched.

I would recommend this to: EVERYONE!! It's too good of a movie to NOT be watched!

Alice in Wonderland

Alice in Wonderland

By: Lewis Carroll
Reviewed by: JNoto, 13
Rating: It was amazing!



Oh, my! After a very late rabbit goes scampering by, Alice suddenly finds herself in the most curious land ever! Babies turning into pigs, mushrooms that make you grow or shrink, and, most absurdly, a dodo bird! Whatever has happened? Will Alice find that talking rabbit-or more importantly, find the way back home again?

A classic story, Alice in Wonderland is a very lively book. NO ONE should NOT read it!

The Reaction

Animorphs: The Reaction

By: K.A. Applegate
Reviewed by: JNoto, 13
Rating: Really liked it



Rachel and the gang have pretty much gotten the hang of morphing from an animal and back into their normal bodies. But, Rachel suddenly finds herself unable to control her morphing-one moment she's human, the next an elephant, and then she morphs directly into a grizzly bear! What on earth is happening?

This book posed an intriguing scenario in the world of morphing. It wasn't too shabby, either.

The Invasion

Animorphs: The Invasion

By: K.A. Applegate
Reviewed by: JNoto, 13
Rating: Really liked it



Jake, Marco, Cassie, Tobias, and Rachel are five normal kids-your average American teenagers, right?

Wrong.

Once they're given the power to morph into any animal they touch by an Alien shipwrecked on Earth, the five are in a race against time to save the human population from being turned into Controllers-slaves controlled by an alien enemy, the Yeerks. Can they stop the Yeerks from taking control of the earth? Or even worse, the galaxy?
The first book in the Animorphs series was actually a lot better than I anticipated. It's more complicated than meets the eye, with subplots within the main plot to keep things interesting.

Friday, October 21, 2011

You Are Not Alone : Michael, Through a Brother's Eyes

You Are Not Alone : Michael, Through a Brother's Eyes

By: Jermaine Jackson
Reviewed by: Jonathan E., 17
Rating: It was amazing!




This book was just perfect, I really loved this book because Michael Jackson's brother Jermaine really did care and loved Michael and he truly shows it in his book, I recommend it to all Michael Jackson fans and to people who just started to like him and all the people in the world of all ages should really read this book, it shows the true Michael Jackson and not the one they showed in the media.


Recommended to: all ages

Born This Way

Born This Way

By: Lady Gaga
Reviewed by: awesomeVia, 17
Rating: It was amazing!



This may be a very biased review since this is coming from a Lady Gaga fan. Looking at her third album "Born This Way", she has definitely gotten better and does it again. I have noticed that her songs are more personal, more serious, and just as catchy. Yes, she still writes her own songs.

"Born This Way" has a great message to just be yourselves and I can definitely relate to this song. My personal favorite is "Edge of Glory" not only because of the tune, but also because of the message she is singing about living in the moment. I also liked "Scheibe" because the tune is catchy and I think she sings partly in German, not sure about that though. "Judas" is very religiously symbolic and catchy. I also loved "Hair" because of the connection she makes about her being as free as her hair. Plus the song has a very good tune. "You and I" is one of the few songs I did not care too much about but was really  one of Gaga's more personal songs.

I get that Lady Gaga is still as weird as always (especially her outfits), but all I care is that her songs are awesome and that she is unique.


Recommended to: Lady Gaga fans, almost everyone.

21

21

By: Adele
Reviewed by: awesomeVia, 17
Rating: It was amazing!



Adele has done it again with her sophomore album titled "21" after her current age. She is one of the rare singers of today that can write their own songs and can sing very well.
Songs I liked on the album are "Rolling in the Deep" which has been overplayed by now. Besides being very catchy, it is very well-written. The song is about a breakup. My personal favorite is "Someone like You" because according to the lyrics, it seems like a song I will sing many years from now if I see my best friend get married. The song makes me a bit sad but at the same time so touching. "Rumour Has It" is so true in today's world and what is a better way to say it than with Adele's amazing vocals. "Turning Tables" has a catchy tune and is as good as the others mentioned.

It's not everyday that you can bump into a singer with so much talent. Adele is amazing. 


Recommended to: Everyone

Into the Wild

Into the Wild

By: Jon Krakauer
Reviewed by: Jerry, 16
Rating: It was amazing!



This is probably one of the most enjoyable and interesting reading I had for a long time. The story focused on a college graduate called Chris McCandless, who ventured into the wild after abandoning his his cash, car, and basically all his belongings. Despite the fact that he could have settle down and find a good job with his college degree, instead he rather ventured into the wild homeless.

Everyone should read this book because it really can change the way we view this world. There's this person, who will give up everything to follow what he really wanted to do: embracing our nature. Unlike most of us, who are mostly materialistic and are willing to do anything that allows us to make the most money, instead of what we really wanted to do.

The author did a good job writing the book not only because it was informative and descriptive, but also because he wasn't biased. Many people feel that Chris McCandless is stupid for abandoning everything and travel into the wild without even telling anyone, making his friends and family worry. The other half of the people feel that Chris is inspirational for following his dream. The author didn't side with either of the group because he wanted the readers to form their own opinion. Now it is up for you to decide after you read the book.


Recommended to: people who like to be inspired

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

By: Michael Bay
Reviewed by: Jerry, 16 
Rating: It was amazing!



I will admit that I watched this movie a month or two ago, but this movie, especially this movie, still plays vividly in my mind. This movie is one of the best movies I had seen so far. It alters historical concepts and incorporates it into the movie, making it seen more realistic. For example, it talks about how the Apollo 11 landed on the moon to investigate Autobots' spaceship.

From the beginning to the end, the movie is filled with actions and surprises. Anyone who enjoy Transformer 1 will definitely enjoy this one.

For those Megan Fox fans, yea I am sorry; she got replaced by another actress. I heard many people that said that the new actress is very bad at acting. In my opinion, she did a decent job. But of course, not as good as Megan Fox.  

Recommended to: action lovers

Cars 2

Cars 2

By: Disney
Reviewed by: Jerry, 16
Rating: Really liked it



In my opinion, Car 2 definitely lived up to its expectation. It is funny, unique, and a lot more interesting than Car 1. Car 2, instead of focusing on Lighting McQueen, it focuses on Mater, McQueen's friend. Even though the story is a bit predictable and too violent for its G rated status, I think that its various comedic scenes helped to make it up. For parents that have kids that are 7 years or younger, it probably will be best not to let them see this movie. The movie contains explosions, gunfire, torture scenes, and kidnappings. It will be a better James Bond sequel than a Car sequel. The story is also very predictable. Basically, Mater starts out low and then rises to the top. That's it. But as I had mentioned before, the movie is pretty funny.


Recommended to: kids that are not 7 or younger

The Clique

The Clique

By: Lisi Harrison
Reviewed by: Lidia, 13
Rating: Really liked it



The Clique is a really good series written by Lisi Harrison. It's about a group of five girlsho think they are better than everybody. It is really funny. Read the whole series!!

Pink Friday

Pink Friday

By: Nicky Minaj
Reviewed by: awesomeVia, 17
Rating: Really liked it



Here comes the debut of the ultimate collaborator, Nicki Minaj! She has collaborated with numerous musicians (especially rappers) before releasing her first album, Pink Friday. She is a female rapper and in various interviews shows that she is a pretty good influence on other women. She has made history with being the first female rapper to top the Billboard Hot 100. And along with that, her sense of style are as flamboyant as that of Lady Gaga.

Pink Friday is filled with catchy songs and the top musicians Minaj collaborates with makes the songs even better. I liked "Check it Out" featuring will.i.am because of the dance-worthy beat the song has. I also like "Super Bass" because it can relate to many people about their first crush. "Moment 4 Life" is one of Nicki's better songs and with Drake in it, the song is amazing as they rap about their dreams and their fame. The song "Fly" sounds like a ballad and a rap song clashing together. Also, with Rihanna's stunning vocals during the chorus plus the meaning of the chorus equals amazement. "Right Thru Me" is one of her more emotional songs. "Your Love" is okay, I read the lyrics to the song, I really do not have much to say about it.

I very much like the variety of the kinds of songs Minaj has on her album along with the collaborators she has featured. With that, her album is therefore worth checking out.  


Recommended to: Almost everyone

Femme Fatale

Femme Fatale

By: Britney Spears
Reviewed by: awesomeVia, 17
Rating: Really liked it



Britney Spears does it again with her 7th album, "Femme Fatale", and she never fails to deliver songs with catchy tunes. In this album, Britney proves that she's still got that edge in the music industry after over 10 years. She may have stumbled in the middle of her career, but she still comes back stronger than ever.

Because of the lyrics to "Hold it Against Me", I didn't really like the song. I really liked "Till the World Ends" because it has a beat catchy enough to make me want to dance and sing along. The downside to the song is that it will get stuck in your head for a pretty long time. "I Wanna Go" is another one of Britney's songs that are catchy and will also get stuck in your head for a great deal of time. "I Wanna Go" has an amazing catchy beat that will probably played at parties and has been remixed countless times (along with "Till the World Ends"). "Big Fat Bass", another one of her songs on this album, I believe will probably be her next single and it is amazingly catchy. Plus, Britney's collaboration with Will.i.am makes the song even better.

This therefore proves to show that Britney Spears has still got it! Anyways, check out this album.


Recommended to: Almost everyone

4

4

By: Beyonce
Reviewed by: awesomeVia, 17
Rating: Really liked it



Beyonce never fails to deliver great music as she does it again with her fourth album, 4. Her voice is still as spectacular as always.

In this album particularly, I find the songs in this album more emotional, especially in "1+1" and "Best Thing I Never Had". "Love on Top" had a very catchy tune and is one of the few songs I listened to very frequently. "Run the World (Girls)" has a very good message about girls running the world and does a good job advocating powerful women, and it does seems that Beyonce is ruling the world with her powerful voice in that song.

Therefore, check Beyonce's latest album out and enjoy! 


Recommended to: Everyone

Monday, August 29, 2011

Chess for Kids

Chess for Kids

By: Michael Basman
Reviewed by: Trey Lewis, 12
Rating: Really liked it



Those who are beginning to play chess this book will put a new twist in how you look at chess.

Recommended to: Beginners at Chess

Disgrace

Disgrace

By: J.M. Coetzee
Reviewed by: szoghi, 17
Rating: Really liked it



This book is about a professor who uses his power to exploit a student intimately. Although at first she tried shying away from him, he searched the campus directories and phone books until he found her. It is a disturbing novel on how the professor, David Lurie, conducts himself after being discovered of his sin. Now considered a social outcast, David moves to live with his daughter Melanie. Although she lives in a peaceful place in the countryside, they are disrupted when intruders come and rape her. Now, the Lurie family has to deal with these new issues, issues that parallel the problems in South Africa at the time. This is definitely a book to read, because of the powerful details, imagery, and plot. The reader is exposed to some major flaws of society.


Recommended to: Ages 16 and Up

Waiting for the Barbarians


Waiting for the Barbarians

By: J.M. Coetzee
Reviewed by: szoghi, 17
Rating: It was alright...



Here is another book by J.M. Coetzee that I will be critiquing. With a similar plot structure as Disgrace, I don't really think it was worth the read. However, there were some differences with the setting and character developments. Just like Disgrace, the main character is an older man with a lust for younger women. Although this man isn't a college professor, he is a powerful individual. When barbarian prisoners are brought into their camp, they are mistreated and abused. However, the magistrate, who is the main character, saves one of the girls from further abuse and shelter her and cares for her. His nurturing of her eventually leads to intimate contact with her, although not very passionate. Eventually, she is returned to her tribe and the magistrate is locked up for his defiance to comply with the empires orders. This book is interesting in the way it deals with the character development. The magistrate seems to progress throughout the novel, because when he sees the cruel treatment the empire employs, he begins to defy their laws and rebel against them.


Recommended to: Ages 17 and Up

Friday, August 12, 2011

Miss Peregrine's Home for Unusual Children

Miss Peregrine's Home for Unusual Children

By: Ransom Riggs

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: Really liked it!

The creepy cover made me curious about this book when I first saw it but when I watched the trailer and it actually gave me chills I was convinced that I wanted to read it, I was definitely curious to find out more about the peculiar children that I saw in the trailer and see all the photos inside this book. However, after i got the book, I was really kind of surprised to find out that it wasn't really as creepy as I initially thought it would be! Nonetheless, it had much more to it than pictures and the story just kept surprising me with twists along the way.

Overall, the book was really eccentric and in a way peculiar. I enjoyed Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.


I would recommend this to: Ages 13 and up

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Draw 50 Famous Cartoons

Draw 50 Famous Cartoons

By: Lee J. Ames

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: It was amazing!

I dont really know how to draw. But this book has been in my house for the longest time.. So I decided it was time to try it out. Im so glad i did! So this drawing book has 50 characters cartoons that you actually probably already can recognize. And all you have to do to draw them is copy the steps, step by step to be able to get a decent drawing of the cartoon! They did a really good job with the final art and the choice of characters were also magnificent. You night need a little brushing up of basic skills before you try some of these cartoons. Even if you dont, its fine, that's OK, we all have to startt somewhere, right!

I would recommend this to: Everyone

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

How To Train Your Dragon

How to Train Your Dragon

By: Chris Sanders & Dean DeBlois

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 17

Rating: It was amazing!

Hiccup, a very small Viking boy wishes to kill dragons to impress his fellow peoples and to prove that he is as tough as them. However, he finds that he's more of a dragon trainer than he is a dragon killer when he captures a dragon. His pet dragon (my favorite character) teaches Hiccup that his people were wrong about dragons all along.

Ok, now to the review! How to Train Your Dragon is easily one of Dreamworks best. I honestly think I even enjoyed it more than anything else they have done. The story is even better executed and the action is more exciting than any other digital movie i have seen. You HAVE to see it if you havent already in theaters.


I would recommend this to: Everyone

What library do you go to?: Madera County Library

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Ace of Spades (www.ace-spades.com)

Ace of Spades

By: Ben Aksoy

Reviewed by: Han Wang, age 16

Rating: It was amazing!

Ace of Spades is a 3D, first person shooter. Not only does the game look like a low resolution version of Minecraft, but it boasts nearly the same building and mining opportunities. The game is split into player-hosted servers that can hold up to thirty-two players.

Once in a server, a player can chose his or her team, blue or green, and his or her weapon of choice, semi-machine gun or semi-automatic rifle-all with a couple of keystrokes. In addition to his or her weapon, every player is equipped with a pickaxe, two grenades, and 50 building blocks.

The goal of the game varies according to the server. In the beginning, all colored briefcases that shows up on the map as a blue or green square ring. The intel is typically located in the back of the team's base; in order to get the intel, most people will either try to tunnel below it or continually harass the enemy base with a group.

Yet a significant number of players don't abide by the server rules and just build to his or her heart's desire or camp in high places where counterattack is nearly impossible.

After the most recent patch, some servers began hosting team death matches, in which teams compete to reach a certain number of kills. This game mode isn't recommended for people with terrible aim or mouse pads. Teams typically build elaborate opposing fortresses that allow players to crouch and peek up to shoot from several windows. Close combat is rare, almost nonexistent.

Some servers even offer the opportunity to cash in kill streaks (five straight kills or more with a minimum of 15 kills total) for tactical airstrikes that look like a lot of grenades dropping in one area at once.

The player gains one point for every kill, and ten points for capturing the intel, and the beauty of it all is that points don't matter at all! There's nothing to level up, and no achievements to gather. In order for a player to figure out his or her or anybody else's kdr, he or she would need a pencil and paper on hand.

Playing AoS is all about living in the moment, about finally reaching the light at the end of the tunnel to gain a bird's eye view of the enemy's spawn point, about soaking in pride after building a massive bridge to nowhere and about sneaking a grenade through a window in the enemy's wall and getting a quadruple kill.

So, why build in Ace of Spades instead of in Minecraft? Well, I can think of two reasons: AoS is a) completely free and b) far less computer intensive. However, buildings in AoS don't last very long; though players are willing to build, some rather destroy, or grief.

I haven't gotten into the modding yet! The player can customize the appearance of his or her tools and other players by downloading the community's creations or making his or her own modifications.

Please give this game a try. It only takes at most a couple of minutes to download, and only seconds to start having fun.


I would recommend this to: Anybody who can tolerate uncensored chat and wants to engage in meaningless fun.

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

The Lord of the Rings and Philosophy

The Lord of the Rings and Philosophy

By: Gregory Basham and Eric Bronson

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: Really liked it!

This book is definitely a great book for young people who have read the books and want a bit more. I recommend this book ONLY to people who have read the books. I persuaded several of my friends to read a bit of this book and they were completely bewildered. If you know enough to understand what they're talking about then this book is wonderfully enlightening. This book is a great read that gives The Lord of the Rings much more meaning.

It goes deeply into the world of LOTR and actually gives you a meaning behind everything that happens and is able to relate it to the real world and what is going on in our lives.

If you really want to understand what LOTR is about, then read this book!


I would recommend this to: Advanced readers

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

By: Lewis Carroll (Drawings by Allison Jay)

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: Really liked it!

Having a lot of little cousins jumping around during summer time can be an extreme mess. However, I've found out a perfect way to channel their energy. And this children's novel has proved to be perfect.

The classic tale of Alice always seems to make my young cousins sleep off. But I realize that I'm always a little drowsy after reading it as well! Lewis Carroll has a beautiful way with words which keeps the reader interested but also lets your imagination run wild. Definitely a need read, whether you are old or young, its good to revisit the classics.

I would recommend this to: Everyone

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Freakonomics (DVD)

Freakonomics

By: Steven D. Levitt

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: It was amazing!

A brilliant book for those who like to life the lid on life's little mysteries.

Establishing an understanding of economics makes you feel as if you can look into the crystal ball and vaguely see into the future which is great. This book gives you some great insight in an easily digestible and most importantly, fun way. Many kids these days, are not exactly familiar with how economics works, and this movie is a perfect yet fun introduction for kids. There is some language here and there, so I would recommend this to ages 13+.

I would recommend this to: Ages 13 and up

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Tsubasa 1

Tsubasa 1

By: Clamp

Reviewed by: Trey Lewis, age 12

Rating: It was amazing!

Syoran and Sakura are very fit for each other! This Japanese style book will make you understand the true meaning of relationships and adventure!

I would recommend this to: Everyone

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Hit and Run

Hit and Run

By: Lurlene McDaniel

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: I really liked it!

I read this book about a week ago and since it was a book on my summer reading list. To be honest, it was an excellent book. Very well written and suspenseful and because of that, I really enjoyed it. However, there was one thing that bothered me as I was reading this book. I really do wish I knew what happened to the characters after the confession was made. It wasn't clear if there was a trial? What happened? It would be nice to read a proper "SEQUEL" to this book so that the readers can actually know what happened in the end! It took us to a climax and just left us there.

Other than that, it was an extremely good book and I would totally read it over again on a hot summer day.

I would recommend this to: Everyone

What library do you go to?: Madera County Library

The Giver

The Giver

By: Lois Lowry

Reviewed by: Tahrima, age 16

Rating: It was all right.

The Giver is about a young boy named Jonas. He resides in a futuristic society in which each citizen is assigned to a job, a spouse, and children. The children are born to mothers who will never get to see them. Trying not to give anymore away, I will only say that Jonas is assigned an important job and is challenged with the release of an innocent child. Jonas is left with the option of leaving his home, job, and family to save the child, or facing the harsh reality of his community and job, and enduring the release of the child.

I would recommend this to:

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Tsubasa 2

Tsubasa 2

By: Clamp

Reviewed by: Trey Lewis, age 12

Rating: It was amazing!

This book puts whole new meaning to a god!

I would recommend this to: People who like books with adventure

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Up

Up

By: Pete Doctor

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: It was amazing!

I just watched this movie for the very first time. I love this film. The movie is about an elderly man named Carl Fredericksen and a cute chubby young Wilderness Explorer that goes by the name of "Russell". The whole movie revolves around their adventure to Paradise Falls. The move is extremely appropriate for all ages, and even my parents loved watching it. Although very subtle, life lessons from this movie can be learned like never giving up on your dreams, because if you do, you will always feel unfulfilled.

this is a movie for ALL ages, young and old alike. I enjoyed this movie more than any I've seen in a long time. And I definitely will be watching this again!


I would recommend this to: Literally everyone

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Hulk: Misunderstood Monster

Hulk: Misunderstood Monster

By: Paul Benjamin

Reviewed by: Yaz, age 18

Rating: Really liked it!

This is a collection of the stories of the Incredible Hulk. It has four really exciting different stories that tell the life and the ongoing adventures of Bruce Banner a.k.a. the Incredibly Hulk. It starts out with the transformation of Bruce into the Hulk which was an accident in the first place. I like this rendition of the Hulk story because even newbies who are not familiar with the story of Hulk of Marvel Universe will know what's happening!

The stories also introduce several reappearing characters with enough information that the reader will know who they are and what is their relation to Bruce/Hulk. I definitely recommend this to any kid or teen that has an interest in comics.


I would recommend this to: Everyone

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2 (Movie)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2 (Movie)

By: David Yates

Reviewed by: awesomeVia, age 17

Rating: Really liked it!

I am saying this last every Harry Potter movie is really good so that they don't trample me. Also, I actually did think this movie was pretty good. It was an amazing end to the Harry Potter series.

I can't really explain the plot since I am afraid to spoil this movie for people that have seen it, but all I can say was I left the theater amazed. Also, I am assuming that this movie goes along with the plot of the last Harry Potter book by J.K. Rowling.

The ending is REALLY brilliant, so brilliant I can't even say. The duel scene with Harry versus Voldemort (AKA the man who shall not be named) was phenomenal as well as the friendship between Harry, Ron, and Hermione, it is still going strong after about 10 years.

I am not an avid fan of the Harry Potter series since I have barely read the books but watched all the movies so fans, please don't trample me. I am just writing about how fantastic the last movie is.


I would recommend this to: Anyone who has read all 7 of the Harry Potter books or has watched all 7 of the last movies.

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Cat's Cradle

Cat's Cradle

By: Kurt Vonnegut

Reviewed by: Han Wang, age 16

Rating: Really liked it!

Meet Dr. Felix Hoenikker, a misdiagnosed idiot savant. Meet Hoenikker's equally misunderstood offspring; they helped bring out the end of days! In Vonnegut's alternative account of the dawn of the Nuclear Age, science represents chaotic, dangerously merciless truth while religion nurtures lies to those incapable of pursuing happiness.

Most of the book went over my head, but I played along. I allowed my mind to be tangled by Vonnegut's deeply confusing, yet entrancing breed of satire so that I would eventually reach the end of the book and be done with it.

The pages flew by. I do not know what kind of literary magic the author casts, but his decision to divide the book into many chapters had a therapeutic effect on me.

By the time I finished the book, I still couldn't figure out whether the book added to one's pessimistic view of the world or simply sold itself as a silly, somewhat serious wake-up call.

One reader, assuming the latter, scribbled a message to future readers on the back of the book I currently owned: "We've got to get it together."




I would recommend this to: People who like science fiction bundled with philosophy

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

A Storm of Swords

A Storm of Swords

By: George R. R. Martin

Reviewed by: Han Wang, age 16

Rating: It was amazing!

While tempting, don't think this reviews is hyping the book anymore than it deserves. From the very first pages, the book ensnares the reader and forces him or her to drop whatever he or she was planning to do later and read, be it while standing or sitting.

Fantasy fiction is rarely as exciting or well-written. History buffs will, with glee, identify the author's inspiration for various cities and treacherous events.

Martin spoils his readers with chapters detailing the adventures of the cunning, noble, and delightfully evil characters.

If you've read the first two books in the series, you must read this book. The majority of online fans consider a Storm of Swords the best of the five books written so far.

It is known.



I would recommend this to: Everybody (who has read the first two books)

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Portal 2

Portal 2

By: Valve

Reviewed by: Anthony, age 16

Rating: Really liked it!

Portal 2 is an action packed and story driven physics game that involves the player to place two portals in strategic locations in order to complete the objective and advance into the next "chamber" (or levels) . This game is a unique blend of first-person, puzzle solving, and action/adventure genres. The player takes on the role of Chell, a rather quiet protagonist, whose goal is to escape from Aperture Science's testing chambers, which is controlled by a rogue AI (artificial intelligence) robot GlaDos. for most of the story, the player receives help from a robotic friend named Wheatly, a clumsy, yet oddly charismatic, personality core. The player must make quick-witted decisions to transform and alter objects in the environment to complete the task. In the end, the player must defeat the boss, which is reminiscent of the first installment of the game, Portal. this game has received positive reviews from critics from recognized sources. The only con about this game is the concept does become repetitive for a six hour game, but the story and diverse construction of each level makes the overall game play enjoyable. Portal 2 is full of surprises that will keep the player entertained, but I will have to say the "re-playability" level would probably be 2 or 3 more times. However, this game does feature a cooperative game mode that will add another six hours of game play. The quality of the game holds up to its reviews, so I do recommend most people who enjoy casual gaming and puzzle solving to play Portal 2.

I would recommend this to: Gamers, Physics enthusiasts

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Uprising

Uprising

By: Margaret Peterson Haddix

Reviewed by: Tahrima, age 14

Rating: It was amazing!

Uprising is a tale woven from tendrils of smoky memories from times long past and emotions still strong. This novel is a winding puzzle of life and loss, and the heart-wrenching tale of death, sacrifice, and devotion to one's cause.

The theme, "never give up" is found through Uprising in the three main characters' commitment to a cause and their refusal to stop trying, despite dangerous circumstances. Even when death looms, they fight for their rights and the rights of all workers in the shirtwaist factories of the 1900s.

This book was impossible to put down. The prose sucks the reader in, and the story, with flowing details, keeps the reader hypnotized in the amazing tale of three young women caught in the fire that shocked America, changing it forever.

I would recommend this to: I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves history and wished they could have been there to experience it. If you read this book, I guarantee that you'll never look at history the same way again.

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle

By: Jeanette Walls

Reviewed by: Tahrima, age 14

Rating: It was amazing!

If you're looking for a heartwarming book that will make you count your blessings, then Jeanette Walls' memoir is perfect.

Walls was raised by parents whose unconventional lifestyle provided not only all sorts of dilemmas for their family, but adventures too. Her parents, Rex and Rose Mary, were constantly moving from one place to another. Though they were both adored by their children, they often neglected their parental responsibilities. Rose Mary was a free-spirited woman who believed that children should live without rules, while her spouse, Rex, was a struggling alcoholic who could barely support his family.

Throughout the hardships of her childhood, Walls' loving personality was consistent. Even when her father was having one of his alcohol-induced rampages, Walls still had the astonishing ability to see him as a brilliant father whom she loved.

The Glass Castle is a timeless book that leave you with a marvelous sense of appreciation and will stick with you always.

I would recommend this to:

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

Playing for Pizza

Playing for Pizza

By: John Grisham

Reviewed by: Tahrima, age 14

Rating: Really liked it!

This could well be one of John Grisham's best. Playing for Pizza is about Rick Dockery, a man who loves football. Because he plays for so many teams, he never really established himself and always seems to do something wrong. The story focuses on a small town in Italy called Parma, where Rick has resurrected his career. He also meets a lot of girls who do not interest him.

This is a very touching story that many can relate to. This book will make you want to read all of Grisham's novels; I know this from experience. It makes you feel as if you are the one telling the story. I like this book because it allows the reader to see how someone who has hit the lowest point can turn their life around and come out on top.

I would recommend this to:

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park

A Child Called "It"

A Child Called "It"

By: Dave Pelzer

Reviewed by: Tahrima, age 14

Rating: It was amazing!

David was renamed "It" by his evil mother. His childhood begins as the life everyone hopes for. He enjoyed visits to the zoo, lake trips with family, and being cuddled by his mother while listening to a great book. David's life drastically changed when he became a first-grader. His mother and father developed drinking problems. It's very hard to read about all the sadistic "games" his mother dreamed up.

When you read some of what happens, you'll wonder how anyone could even think of doing such things to their own child. Pelzer is a strong man to write about his childhood when he was almost beaten to death. This book really makes you wonder how many other children suffer such abuse.

As his teacher and principal, neighbors and even his father stand by and let the abuse happen, it makes you wonder what you would have done. This book is extremely well written. All of the gruesome details help you to visualize what he went through. There are more books in this series, and you'll want to read them all once you begin.


I would recommend this to:

What library do you go to?: Woodward Park