Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Stealing Snow

Stealing Snow

By: Danielle Page
Reviewed By: Amanda S.
Rating: It was alright...

It was pretty good. However, from a technical standpoint, the character development was a bit bare, and the romance/plot was quite unoriginal. Girl must go out of comfort zone to retrieve her "one true love", kisses the guy helping with the rescue, is confused about her feelings; seems to be an extremely typical way to try and tie in romance with adventure, and it feels, frankly, amateur. Despite this, the rest of the plot was fairly good, I enjoyed this retelling of "Snow Queen".

I would recommend this to: Those who enjoy retellings of classic stories or "romance."



Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Loose Change

Loose Change

By: Ed Sheeran
Reviewed By: Amanda S.
Rating: I really liked it.

He wrote all the songs (although there were a few collaborations), and the lyrics are largely focused on love, a common theme in his work (along with drinking and heartbreak). However, songs such as "Firefly" showed a bit of a different side to his music: it was more bubbly and optimistic feeling, making it by far my favorite on this album. Overall I'd give it a 6-7/10, for the lack of more variation (i.e., majority of his songs tend to be extremely similar overall, from a strictly musical POV).

I would recommend this to: Those who enjoy Ed Sheeran/acoustic music



Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Avalon High

Avalon High

By: Meg Cabot
Reviewed By: Shauna H.
Rating: It was alright...

Avalon High is a modern retelling of the legend of King Arthur, starring Elaine Harrison (or Ellie for short). She is the daughter of two professors who research all things medieval and is forced to move to Annapolis due to her parents' sabbatical. She attends Avalon High, becomes friends with the golden boy of the school (A. William Wagner) after only a few days, and life seems to be going her way. At least, until strange coincidences start occurring.

After reading the summary for this book, I was excited. I mean, a modern retelling of the legend of King Arthur? Count me in! Besides, I had enjoyed the movie a long time ago, and the book is always better. Right? Sadly, not in this case. Nothing really happened until a little over halfway through the book, and there was a lot of unnecessary filler. The book just scratched the surface with the legend of King Arthur, and I was a little disappointed that more of the characters weren't included.

The story had a lot of potential, but for me it just fell flat. Perhaps I was expecting too much fantasy from this book? But it is supposed to be a retelling, so...

This is the first book by Meg Cabot I've read, and it was enjoyable, just not exceptional. I don't think I'll be reading another one of her books any time soon.

Side note: the verses from "The Lady of Shalott" at the beginning of each chapter brought back memories of Anne of Green Gables and made me want to watch the movies again. To be honest, that poem was probably one of my favorite parts of the book.   



I would recommend this to: Teen fans of "Chick Lit."



Wednesday, October 5, 2016

The Swap

The Swap


Reviewed By: Aimee E.
By: Megan Shull
Rating: It was amazing!

This book is hands down the number one book that I have read. The setting of this novel is that Jack and Ellie switch bodies. Before they switched bodies, both of them thought that one had it easier than the other. After the weekend ends, both of them switch back to their original bodies. After a few years have passed, there is an exciting, emotional ending. This is a teen romantic novel. (By the way, I got this book last summer from this website. :) )


I would recommend this to: Anyone that enjoys romantic teen novels.


Sunday, July 10, 2016

Christy Miller Series Book #1: Summer Promise

Summer Promise


Reviewed By: Kelsey L.
By:Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: It was amazing!

This novel, is truly a magnificent piece of writing. I first found this book when I was in seventh grade and feeling so...out of place. I didn't know where I belonged or who I could be friends with. It was a really tough time for me, socially speaking. So, I found this book, Summer Promise and fell in love with the characters and author. 


It's about this teenage girl named Christy. She's just a small town girl who gets to spend her summer with some relatives in the sunny beaches of California. During her summer, she begins to develop a sense of who she is and what kind of person she wants to become. Along the way, she meets these peers who accept her for who she is and creates these ever lasting friendships. And, of course, an innocent romance is involved. A certain blond headed, surfer boy catches Christy's attention, and the rest is history. 

 This first book takes you on a whirlwind of emotions that will leave you wanting more, to know what happens next. It was an escape from reality I desperately needed. Gave me the guidance in how to deal with certain social situations. It truly has influenced me in every aspect of my life. 

Now, Christianty is a big part of this story. Along with Christy finding her way and accepting who she is, she also develops an everlasting faith in God. But listen, I'm not an avid Christian and frankly not very well-versed in the religion, so I had no idea what I was getting into with this book. But along with Christy, I learned so much about a religion I knew nothing of really. So go in with an open mind and, who knows, maybe you'll learn a few things. I hope this review is useful to any of those who check out this book. 

Feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions or want to know more. I could talk about this series all day. That's how passionate I am about it. I hope this helps! Enjoy! 

~Kelsey

I would recommend this to: Any teenage girl who needs to know she isn't alone.



Defy

Defy


Reviewed By: Hayley R.
By:Sarah B. Larson
Rating: It was amazing!

I loved this book. A girl named Alexa Hollen is a great fighter, but in her kingdom she has to pretend to be a boy to fight for the king's army or else something even worse might happen. Everything changes when she meets the king's son Damien, and realizes she's helplessly falling in love with him. If you love the Disney movie Mulan, you will love this book.


I would recommend this to: Teens/Adults



Thursday, July 7, 2016

Want a free book?


If you've been watching our blog for awhile but haven't yet submitted any book reviews of your own, now is the perfect time to send one in.

In the spirit of Fresno County Public Library's Summer Reading Challenge, we've decided to treat our valued reviewers to a free summer read.

While supplies last, we're giving away one book to each reviewer who posts a new review between today and the last day of summer (one free book per reviewer, not one free book for each review). These books may be of any genre, so if you're an avid reader of science fiction you may not necessarily get a sci fi book. You may participate in this offer even if you have reviewed for us before.

All you need to do to is submit a review of a book you've read, using the form provided in the left-hand sidebar of this site.

However, there are a few rules for this promotion:

  • Ages 13-17
  • Fresno County library cardholders only.
  • If you do not wish to give your address in the form, indicate which library branch you want your free book to be sent to.
  • Please put some thought into your reviews. One sentence reviews will not be accepted.
  • Keep it clean (ex. no profanity). 

That's all, folks! We look forward to reading your reviews.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Scarlet

Scarlet


Reviewed By: Hayley R.
By:Marissa Meyer
Rating: Really liked it.

Scarlet is not your average red riding hood. Scarlet's grandmother is missing and she is determined to get her back, but has many obstacles in the way when the Lunar queen Levana will stop at nothing to take over Earth. Will Scarlet ever find her grandmother?


I would recommend this to: Teens/Adults



Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Talon

Talon


Reviewed By: Hayley R.
By:Julie Kagawa
Rating: It was amazing!

Omg this book is amazing. THE DRAGONS OF TALON: Once hunted nearly to extinction, they are now poised to take over the world. THE ORDER OF ST. GEORGE: The legendary dragonslayers will stop at nothing to wipe dragons from the face of the earth. These mortal enemies are locked in secret and deadly combat, with humanity none the wiser.


I would recommend this to: Teens



Sunday, May 1, 2016

The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner


Reviewed By: Hayley R.
By:James Dashner
Rating: It was amazing!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are gone. Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive. Will Thomas and the gladers ever make it out?


I would recommend this to: Teens/Adults